Table of Contents
First cost is the sum of the initial expenditures involved in capitalizing of goods or services. The First cost is used in every deal to calculate the Profit:
Profit = Revenue – First cost
Profit is used to calculate the ROI, so it is very important to calculate the first cost:
ROI = (Profit – Expenses) / Expenses × 100%
How Roistat gets the value of the First cost
There are several ways of loading the First cost to Roistat. Each way has its priority. Roistat tries to load the first cost from the highest priority way of loading the First cost. If it is impossible to load the highest priority way, Roistat tries to load the value of the First cost using the lowest priority way.
The ways of loading the First cost to Roistat are described below in the order of priority:
Standard field with the First cost in a CRM deal
Some CRMs have their mechanism of calculating the First cost, and the value of the First cost is displayed in the standard field of a deal. In this way, the First cost is loaded to Roistat from specific fields of the deals in CRM.
The First cost field in the integration settings
In this way. the First cost can be loaded not only from the standard field of a deal but also from the additional field that can be specified in the integration settings.
Also, if a deal has an additional field with the Profit value, the First cost is calculated in the following way: First cost = Revenue - Profit.
To learn more about the FIrst cost field, read this article.
To configure the field:
- Open the Integrations list in your Roistat project.
- In the Currently connected block, find your CRM and click the Configure button:
Cost field in a CRM deal
If the information about the additional field cost of a CRM deal is transmitted to Roistat, the First cost value is loaded from the additional field cost.
Deal profit field
To configure this field, open Settings→ Project settings:
The value of this field is used to calculate the Profit:
Profit = (Deal profit, % × Revenue) / 100%.
The First cost is calculated in the following way:
First cost = Revenue – Profit.
The First cost was not loaded from CRM.
Revenue = 5300 USD.
Deal profit = 60%.
Profit = (60% × 5300 USD) / 100% = 3180 USD.
First cost = 5300 USD – 3180 USD = 2120 USD.